Skip to main content

Natural Awakenings Central Florida / Orlando

Understanding the Heart Chakra

Nov 30, 2022 09:31AM ● By Maureen Keller
A seven-month editorial series began with the Root Chakra (Sept), Sacral Chakra (Oct), Solar Plexus (Nov).  December is all about the Heart Chakra. What is it? What organs are affected? How can I support my energy body health?

Chakras are an integral part of physical, psychological and spiritual functions. Chakras are whirling energy centers correlated to acupuncture points. These energy centers control and energize major organs. When they malfunction, the vital organs become sick or dis-eased because they can become unbalanced. Lack of balance occurs when there is not enough (or conversely too much) life energy or prana.

The Heart Chakra is the fourth of seven chakras. It is located in the center of the chest, in front of the heart. Also known as Anahata (Sanskrit), it focuses on unconditional love, compassion and joy. It is the source of deep and profound truth that cannot be expressed in words.

The symbol is a mandala (circle) depicting a lotus flower. It consists of the following elements: 12 petals representing: peace, bliss, love, harmony, empathy, understanding, purity, clarity, compassion, unity, forgiveness and kindness. The frequency is 341Hz. The animal associated is a Wolf, which represents community awareness, and it supports others while receiving the same for itself.

The physical functions and the corresponding organs are Heart, Lungs, Thymus Gland (makes T-cells for immunity) and the Circulatory System. Malfunctions may manifest as infections (low T-cells). Lung problems: asthma, tuberculosis, pneumonia, emphysema. Heart ailments: irregular heartbeats, heart enlargement, rheumatic or partial failure.

The psychological function is connected to the solar plexus. The Solar plexus energy is sensitive to emotions. When harsh words, excessive verbal criticism or envy occur, this tension and stress greatly affects the Heart Chakra.

Green and Pink are the colors. The green represents the receiving and giving of love. Pink represents unconditional love in a soft, nurturing way. Wearing and surrounding yourself in these two colors helps one achieve heart balance. Supportive foods: kale, broccoli, spinach, chard, celery, green tea, avocado, lime, peas, kiwis, green apples are all good choices.

A recommended yoga pose is Cobra Pose. The Heart chakra is an air element symbolizing freedom and expansion of breath without restrictions. Cobra pose is a gentle backbend practiced from a face-down position that warms and strengthens the spine while opening the chest.

Activities: Watch what you think, feel and say. Make a “Gratitude List” for all the things in your life. Practice The Golden Rule: “Do unto others as you wish others do unto you.”

Try essential oils, incense or candle aromas such as patchouli, rose, jasmine and cypress.

The crystals are rose quartz, emeralds, green aventurine.

Affirmations include: “I am open to love.” and “I forgive myself and others.”

This article was created by Maureen Keller, Pranic Healer at Pranic Life ([email protected]) and Kara, Body Intuitive and Owner of ShiftingSouls Metaphysical Store (located inside Unity of CFL, 771 Holden Ave, Orl 32839). Chant YAM (the seed sound) for a 10% discount on all retail items or AH for a 10-minute reading with Kara! She may be reached at [email protected] or 321-328-5912.




Home Subscription Option


Join our Natural Directory


Farmers Market Guide